Spinach and Salmon for a Sore throat

my throat is on fire.

Hot, fiyaah flames.

And I don’t mean this in a “look-at-you-go-you’re-on-fire” type of way, I mean this as a dry, burning sensation down the insides of my neck, caused by nothing but the body’s very own inflammatory functions in response to some bacteria that I’d probably picked up yesterday.

That’s right. Yo’ girl here, is sick.

When swallowing becomes a chore, and moving vocal chords feel like scraping sun burnt skin with a rough wired sponge, it was difficult to stay alert today, let alone remaining motivated to do anything or talk to anyone.

…Going to the gym probably wasn’t the best idea either, but in my defense, I didn’t exactly realise how much my throat actually hurt until after i’d scraped through shoulder boulder day today, and then coming home to collapse in my seat.

Feeling somewhat heavy, weak and a little bit delirious, I sat in my chair, head heavy and balancing precariously on my tired, flimsy neck. I was rapidly falling asleep to a food recipe video i’d added into the “watch later” list on Youtube yesterday (no offence to the youtuber- your video was amazing, my body is just sick.), but as usual, was startled awake by my Asian father, ironically yelling at me to take a nap in my room instead.

Sometimes I wonder what one has to do just to get a mere 20 minutes’ of peace and silence while living with a pair of Asian parents.

Anyhoo,

I’d decided to scrape myself off the chair. No more wallowing in self pity and agony anymore.
What does one do when one is sick? That’s right. Soup.

Tonight’s menu was a Salmon and Spinach soup. Packed full of nutrients and protein to aid those immune system cells in blasting away the nasty infection residing at the back of my throat.

We didn’t have very much on hand in the fridge as we are leaving for a trip to Singapore on Saturday (desperately trying to clear off food), however I managed to find some silken tofu, frozen winter veg and an egg to nutritionally supplement the soup.

Tofu cubes in a bowl
I was always told that the secret to the porcelain smooth skin of ancient Chinese princesses lies within the copious amounts of silken tofu they were consuming. Packed with iron and oestrogen, tofu is especially good for the ladies- but of course, the protein amount is also beneficial for both men and women in achieving those lean gains.
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Rich in Omega 3 and 6, the good fats that’ll never make you fat.
Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Don’t be put off by the fact that the veg is frozen- freezing it actually preserves its nutritional value, ensuring that it remains from the farm, to the supermarkets at Aldi, and then into your gut.

Spinach is actually one of the most nutritionally dense vegetables ever to grow on earthly soil, and is packed full of iron, vitamin C, calcium, vitamin K, A, B12 and many other nice things, like dietary fibre and folate (no wonder it makes popeye swole and strong).

I love it in a soup, as it wilts like magic, becoming SO simple to eat (good for the aching throat and injured taste buds).

A healthy hunk of salmon for soup never disappoints too- a great source of vitamin D, friendly fats (polyunsaturated omgea 3 and 6 galore), and best of aaall, protein for the lean muscular gains.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
Watercress Spinach, high in iron, vitamin C and dietary fibre.

Making the soup itself wasn’t too hard of a task either. (if a sick, low-key grumpy teenage girl can do it, i’m sure you can too.)

First, add 1 to 1.5 cups of water into a pot with some chicken stock powder, and bring that to a slow simmer.

Add your frozen veg, and wait for THAT to boil.

As soon as it starts simmering, placing your salmon on top of the veg, and turn the heat on medium to low. Close the lid of the pot and wait for about 3-4 minutes, allowing your salmon to sort of boil/steam until it is juuust cooked (fear not if it is still slightly raw in the middle).

Once you see it change colour, take your salmon out of the pot and into a bowl to save it from overcooking.

Next, dump your tofu and spinach in, and wait roughly about 4 minutes for it to cook and wilt. Adjust your heat to medium depending on the pot, and how much ingredients you put in.

At this point here, I added a little bit more chicken stock, and about 1 tablespoon of this bonito sauce that was bought from Daiso.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
My absolute favourite for anything salmon- also works well as a soba noodle dipping sauce

If you can’t find this in your local Daiso, you can substitute this for some low sodium soy sauce (and perhaps start with half a tablespoon first, before adding more according to taste). I absolutely adore this dressing however, it is so versatile and its flavour doesn’t domineer like soy sauce can sometimes do.

Once the spinach has wilted and your soup looks a more liquidy, crack in your egg, and place your salmon back into the pot to heat and finish off cooking.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset
Nearly done

I personally like my egg yolk runny (so its sauceyy at the end), so I switched the stove off once the first hints of cooked translucency appeared through the egg whites. If you prefer your eggs a little more cooked, leave the soup simmering for 1-2 minutes longer.

Serve in a bowl, or eat straight from the pot (I decided to serve in a bowl today, for photograph purposes)

Looks like a tornado flew around in my bowl before you came (don’t lie, you sang that didn’t you), and the egg yolk I was so SOOOO carefully trying not to break, broke like my heart did when I saw it breaking. 😥

But you’re left with a silky, warm broth that’s slightly sweet and salty, slightly milky from the salmon, and packed full of nutrients from wholesome ingredients.

Leave a Reply

